Department of Philology (History & Organisation)

The Department of Philology at the University of Patras was established in 1994 (Presidential Decree 305/94, Govt. Gazette163/4-10-1994) and admitted its first students in the academic year 1997-1998. The Department became administratively autonomous in the academic year 2001-2002, headed by A. Markos, Professor of Philosophy.

The Department comprises three sections:

and provides the following Programmes of Study:

  • Postgraduate Program (2-year Master’s course and Doctorate). Students may choose one of three options: (a) Classics, (b) Modern Greek Studies and (c) Linguistics.

A key aim of the Department is to create a range of interdisciplinary studies by encouraging co-operation among experts from different fields, different schools within the university and at other universities, from Greece and from abroad. As the Department is part of a university whose geographical location makes it one of the most important gateways into Greece from Europe, the Department of Philology encourages contact, joint research programmes and student and teacher exchanges with major universities in other countries.

In the years which have passed since it was established, the Department has been involved in a broad range of activities, including research and educational programmes, conferences, summer schools and visits from eminent invited scholars from all over the world.

The academic staff of the Department of Philology includes 24 Teaching and Research Staff members: 5 Professors, 7 Associate Professors, 10 Assistant Professors and 2 Lecturers. The department is active in various research programmes and collaborates with other European universities via the ERASMUS programme by encouraging student exchanges and visits by members of the Teaching and Research staff.

The Chairperson of the department is Dr. Katerina Kostiou, Professor of Modern Greek Literature, the Deputy Chairperson is Dr. George J. Xydopoulos, Associate Professor of Linguistics, and Mr. Fotis Kaspiris is the Departmental Secretary.

The highest administrative body of the Department is the General Assembly, made up of all members of the Teaching and Research Staff and by elected student representatives.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *